Azure DevOps for Jira
Auto Light Dark
Auto Light Dark

Work Item Synchronization

Azure DevOps for Jira supports synchronizing work items between Microsoft Azure DevOps and Jira.

Use the guides below to configure and manage work item synchronization according to your requirements.


Synchronization guides

Azure DevOps to Jira

Synchronize work items from Azure DevOps to Jira. Work items created in Azure DevOps can automatically create corresponding work items in Jira, with selected fields and values synchronized between the two platforms.

See: Syncing Azure DevOps Work Items to Jira

Jira to Azure DevOps

Synchronize work items from Jira to Azure DevOps. Work items created in Jira can automatically create corresponding work items in Azure DevOps, with selected fields and values synchronized between the two platforms.

See: Syncing Jira Work Items to Azure DevOps

Two-way synchronization

Synchronize work items in both directions at once. A change made in either Jira or Azure DevOps updates the other automatically, without creating duplicate work items or update loops.

See: Bi-directional Work Item Synchronization

Configuration

Work item synchronization requires an Azure DevOps integration before a synchronization can be created.

The integration defines the Azure DevOps connection and the Jira spaces that can be accessed. When creating a synchronization, you then select the Jira space and Azure DevOps project and configure the field and user mappings.

For information about creating an Azure DevOps integration, see Setting up a Work Item Sync Integration

Field mapping

Field mapping determines which fields and values are synchronized between Jira and Azure DevOps.

You can map:

  • Jira and Azure DevOps work item types.

  • Fields between the two platforms.

  • Field values between the two platforms.

Additional fields and value mappings can be added when configuring a synchronization.

User mapping

User mapping allows users in Jira to be associated with their corresponding Azure DevOps users.

This is optional, but is useful when you want synchronized work items to be assigned to the appropriate user in the other system.

User mapping works from your Azure DevOps project's team membership by default - no additional scope is required. To map users from across the whole organization instead of just project members, also include the optional Member Entitlement Management: Read scope.


Important considerations

Before configuring synchronization, make sure that:

  • The required Jira spaces and Azure DevOps projects are available.

  • The Azure DevOps PAT has the permissions required for the direction of synchronization.

  • Required fields in the destination system are mapped and populated.

  • User mappings are configured if work item assignments need to be synchronized.

If a required field is not populated when a work item is created, the corresponding work item may not be created in the destination system.



Updated: September, 2026